Skip to content

How To Earn An Income From Your Writing

June 24, 2012

For years I earned a living writing business articles and features for the media, because that was my job and I was very good at it. A few years ago I turned my expertise at writing for business into writing erotic-fiction, and was surprised at the results.

It was in 2004 when I first launched Her Gift Of Love onto the Internet with few sales. I was so enthusiastic that I paid to give the book its own domain name and Website.

The Website made just enough sales to pay for a great night out about once a month, but it was obvious from the start it would never provide a living. Discouraged, the writing for my second novel hit a brick wall. The problem was that in 2004 whatever social media was available was aimed at business connections, not erotic romances!

Then new Websites selling eBooks like Cyberread, Mobipocket and others began to appear, and publishing the book online with them began to show results. Encouraged, I rushed my second novel, Love Is On The Rocks, into print and having two books started to show results.

Encouraged, I started more novels just as the eBook Readers started to appear and become popular. When Kindle launched in the UK, I decided to add my old and new novels to their directory. This included Her Fall From Grace which has a very steamy first chapter.

Over the next few months, the trickle of royalty payments developed into a stream, but were still a long way from becoming a river, so the order for the new Porsche had to be put on hold. It was then I read an article by Joe Konrath, who in January of 2012 earned over $100,000 in just 3-weeks for self-publishing eBooks on Amazon’s Kindle platform.

Click here to read his article and get motivated!

You must read that article, and many others he’s published about writing and self-publishing your novels. The man is a hero, and tells you just the way it is, with none of the BS you get from other so-called writers who publish books on how they sold a million eBooks, but if you read their slim book, it contains nothing you didn’t already know.

Joe Konrath, on the other hand wrote and published a comprehensive 1100-page manual on the subject: The Newbie’s Guide to Publishing (Everything A Writer Needs To Know)

You should read that eBook from cover to cover, and next year this time we’ll all be millionaires!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

